UP CLOSE & PERSONAL WITH STAR SMILEZ!

I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN A BIG FAN OF THE ENTIRE BATTLE RAP SCENE URL ETC. (SHOUT OUT TO SMACK WHITE) I WAS INTRODUCED TO QUEEN OF THE RING BY A CLOSE FRIEND OF MINE. I WATCHED STAR BATTLE K FETTIE, PINKI, DON LADYii, ETC. HER LYRICS ARE SO EPIC AND HER DELIVERY IS BANANAS. CHECK OUT MY EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH STAR SMILEZ.

JusVenus: How does it feel to be apart of something as big as Queen of the Ring?

Star Smilez: It feels amazing to just be able to go in the ring and express yourself without even being looked at as a female. Just being looked at as a rapper.

JusVenus: So, what are your thoughts on the current state of the game?

Star Smilez: I honestly think females are not just being looked at as girls that can rap. Yes it will take some time to get that full recognition but I think we as females are way closer than before.

JusVenus: Who influenced your style?

Star Smilez: I am a big fan of Nas, Jay Z, Eminem. Lloyd  Banks, and Remy. I think that why I like story telling so much because Nas and Eminem are great at that and Remy just keeps it real. She is from the block, Castle Hill, i’m not far from there so I know some shit she talk about.

(CHECK OUT STAR SMILEZ FT. T-REX FREESTYLE)

JusVenus: What is your mind state when you get in the ring for a battle?

Star Smilez: My mindstate every time I get in the ring is, “ I have to make this performance better than my last, go!”

JusVenus: Who would you say is the most influential artist now, and 10 years ago?

Star Smilez: Now and ten years from now  would be Jay Z. He is still here where as some rappers from that time came and gone.

JusVenus: Is America so superficial that the best lyrical artists are surpassed and outsold by generic mainstream artist?

Star Smilez: Honestly yes, now it is really about your hook or how catchy your words/ beat is. Look at J cole for instance. J cole may be one of the most lyrical rappers out right now but yet Tyga is selling more than him. lol

(WATCH STAR SMILEZ BATTLE 40 B.A.R.R.S)

JusVenus: How do you put together your lyrics? Do you start out with a concept, and write from there, or start out with a couple dope lines and assemble a concept around them?

Star Smilez: Well when im writing songs I usually do concepts. I listen to the beat a few times then think about what hook would go then just go off that. When im writing for a battle I usually just come up with lines that lead to concepts.

(STAR SMILEZ – STORY TO TELL)

JusVenus: Name an artist whom you would like to collaborate with in the future?

Star Smilez: I would like to collaborate with Frank Ocean in the future. A hook from him would be aight lol

JusVenus: Do you ever think there is two Star Smilez?

Star Smilez: Yes, there is definitely 2 star smilez. There is that tense Star smilez that feels a way about something and ready to kill then there is that star smilez that likes to joke and make people laugh.

JusVenus: What is your favorite thing to see in the audience while you are on stage?

Star Smilez: Lol smile lol

Make sure you FOLLOW Star Smilez on Twitter @Star_SmileZ

Be sure to go to  www.DotMobb.com to order your DOTMOBB.COM Wristbands NOW!!!