TAMARA BUBBLE THE VERSATILE ARTIST!!!

AN EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH THE BEAUTIFUL AND TALENTED TAMARA BUBBLE!!!

I had a blast interviewing Tamara Bubble. She is so down to earth and funny it was like talking to one of my homegirls.

JV: What image do you think your music conveys?

TB: I think my image and what I try to convey with my image is about me being real. My debut album is unleashed and it’s about being outspoken not in a rebellious type of way just being free to express yourself and I feel that there is a lot of mainstream artist and even independent artist that are signed to a label, once you’re signed even an artist that signs to management once you sign you limit yourself. They are going to want to market you in a certain way for them to make money. Putting you where they feel you will make the most money where you will have more bang for your buck so to speak. I have so much freedom pushing this independently and I do have management but the fact that they allow me Pete shout out to Pete Spell the dopest manager out there. He gives me that unlimited creative range and that allows me to do jazz and hip hop in the same track and it still works. People don’t think that would work, or that would sell. There are people that can vibe to that and they have so far. So I think my image is just about being real and raw. I don’t really deal in auto tunes. You know you got people that say “awww you should do this, everybody’s doing this” and I be like “No I’m going to do me.” (Laughs) So that is what my image portrays just real, raw and undefined.

JV: Yeah because you do have a lot of people come out and do well with their first song and then management and the labels come in and then you have a commercial artist. Like 50 I loved him when he first came out with the 21 questions and before that. When an artist turns commercial that’s where I lose that love for them.

TB: It’s so crazy that’s when they are real and that is the first thing that draws you to that artist 50 was gangster then it was have a baby by me and okay he’s a millionaire.

JV: I know you sing, rap, act and model now as far as your music would you rather do an entire LP of singing or rapping?

TB: My debut has some singing some rap. There is more singing then rap and it’s because there are so many styles that I sing and there’s ultimately going to be more singing but there are two tracks that are on the album that are Hip Hop and Rap songs. There are two tracks that are jazz and some scatting I love scatting so I do that a lot. I listen to Ella Fitzgerald so much because I just love scatting it’s like a whole different language and it speaks so much. To me at first I thought it was all about the lyrics but really it’s just about that raw feeling and emotion that you have when you’re delivering a song. So yeah there is more singing then rapping on the album but there is just a variety of genres. Everything from club, techno, to hip hop, and I’m going at all the dudes in the game so it’s just a variety.

JV: What was the first song you sang in front of a big group of people and how did that make you feel?

Tamara’s Official Video for Stupid Mother

TB: I actually don’t remember the first performance because I grew up singing in church. So I have been performing in front of people for a long time so that was never an issue for me like now I’m performing in front of a lot of people because I have always been singing on stage. So I would say the first performance with a big crowd is when I performed at the Apollo Theatre and it wasn’t for the show that’s on TV it was just in the Venue. However the place was packed at that time that was the biggest venue I have ever performed at. I saw nothing but people when I walked out on stage I couldn’t see faces past the 3rd row.  I was so hype I was like wow all these people came out here so I was saying to myself I have to give them a show. So that was the first time before a performance I got hype over myself like go head do it mami because all these people are watching. You know people are watching expecting you to mess up or waiting for you not to deliver waiting to see if you are timid or shy or whatever so you have to give it to them to where they are like how come I never heard of her she’s on it she’s polished she’s ready to go.

JV: When did you first discover your love for the art of music?

TB: I started to do it professionally about 2 years ago. I was singing tracks for this producer out of Queens and he was looking to submit some reference tracks to the majors and he was like oh you can sing? You got pipes, do you write songs? I told him I do now and I started laughing then I went home and the next day I wrote like 10 songs in 2 hours. I don’t know if I had it built up in me and I was waiting for somebody to say hey why don’t you take this as a career you been singing all these years do something with it. So once I wrote the songs and the melody came to me I didn’t want anybody else to sing them I wanted to sing them.  I can relate to them so it’s like let me do my own music and from there I was hooked.

JV: I love your versatility I was listening to and watching some of your videos. That is a great trait to have in this industry.

TB: I love the fact that I’m versatile too because when you have those meetings with those majors and they are like okay who do you sound like? The first thing I tell them is I don’t sound like anybody because if I play one song for you you’re going to say oh you sound like this and oh your voice does this. Then I play another song for you and you’re like this sounds like a whole different person. I play another song for you and you’re like that’s the same girl? I want it to be like that I don’t want people at labels to feel they have to pigeon hole an artist. It’s so funny because the way the music changes now days. Five or ten years ago everybody was R&B now everybody’s Pop or Dance.  So if all these artist have that ability to adapt why not let them do what they could do at the beginning anyway and do that versatility from jump? Rather than have people think oh they sold out now they only do this you know what I mean?  The average person you see or network with on Facebook or Twitter they do graphic design they do videos, everything you need you can usually find it in one person the bundle. That just goes to show people don’t just do one thing.

JV: Do you currently have a fan club and or a street team?

TB: My manager is setting up my street team for me. I have this thing on twitter I call them mini groupies they do promo and I love it. I don’t know if it’s a fan club they haven’t put up a website for me yet. I definitely have followers that are watching the movement and I appreciate that and I respect that so much. A lot of people want to wait until you have that major cosign or you have a song with that major artist featured on it. I don’t want that I want people who know who Tamara Bubble is before she’s featured on somebody’s track.

JV: Like the quote that Will Smith says: If you’re are absent during my struggle don’t expect to be present during my success.

TB: Yeah people just jump on board when they see the wagon driving. When it’s parked they are not jumping on then when it’s on the move it’s hard to catch up then because I know you were not there from jump.

JV: Exactly those are the opportunist. I saw that you were opening for Tamar Braxton are you currently on tour now?

TB: Yes, I’m on my 2012 promo tour it’s my first national tour. Most of the cities are on the east coast, there are some in the Midwest and we are doing a lot of promo and radio stuff on the west coast and we will add some shows after that. Once some buzz builds up more on the west coast we’ll add some shows there. One major show is coming up The 22nd Annual Festival  in Charleston, SC that is August 11th and there’s also the show in Atlanta August 4th. All the dates to the shows are on my Official Website. www.TamaraBubble.com

JV: Who are your top 5 lyricist of all time?

TB: Number one is Biggie let me just say I use to listen to the beat by looking at the rappers voice if they look good I would listen to their music and give them a chance. He was the first artist that I started to focus on the lyrics. He’s like dead or alive, skinny, fat, tall, ugly, white, red he’s number one. Nas would be number 2. Top 5 I don’t know I have to think about that I don’t want to give no rapper the spot lol. Oh and Lil Kim is number 3. I don’t want to give my spots away. They all from Brooklyn too but they are all dope. There are so many rappers old school and new school OMG. Those 3 come to mind.

We just went with her top 3. I couldn’t name 5 either so I ended up with a top 3 also. Mine are Nas, Lupe Fiasco, Q-tip.

JV: If you could change anything about the music industry what would it be?

TB: The politics. I think the way the industry is now is disgusting especially for a female. I shouldn’t just say for a female because it’s like that for a man too with women in power. I think a lot of men in power take that and make hoes out of talented women who would really pursue this the right way. Then it wouldn’t be all this skirt up to the top and they would really work hard. I wrote songs about it because it’s so real now everything is like quick pro quo like you do this for me and I’ll do this for you. I be like nah how much do you charge? It’s not that type of party I don’t think they understand I have the music I have the fan base and I’m steady working every day to build it so it’s not that type of party. I’m really here for the music. So I would change that whole you know, you know, you know (laughs).

Check out Tamara’s Official Site http://www.TamaraBubble.com

Youtube http://www.youtube.com/user/TamaraMusicVEVO

In the words of Tamara

“If I mess up double check me, don’t quote me, but come and meet me and we going to get it going.”